After The Rain

Posted: January 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

Image

After the Rain

Stung by her parents’ divorce, singer Mancy A’lan Kane discovered hope amid the storms of life.
Story By Mark Moring

Nancy A’lan Kane will never forget the day her father walked away.

Till then, life had been just about perfect. Mancy, her sister Dolly, and their parents, who lived in a nice Tennessee home, were one big happy family.

At least that’s what Mancy thought.

“My parents never argued in front of us,” she says. “When they said they were getting divorced, it was definitely a shock.”

And just like that, Mancy, then 15, was essentially fatherless. Her dad just packed his bags and moved away.

For Mancy, the sun had ceased to shine. And the storm had just begun.

Mancy sings about those painful days—and much more—on her first album, Paper Moon (Pioneer Music Group), a collection of pop/folk songs that tell much of the story of Mancy’s own life.

“My music is very personal,” says Mancy, 19. “This album addresses all the different emotions and struggles we go through as Christians. I think it’s a very real album. Hopefully, after people listen to it, they’ll know me.”

They’ll certainly know a little something of the pain Mancy felt after her parents’ divorce. For three years, Mancy didn’t see much of her dad. She felt burned.

“Not having a father around really affected me,” she says. “I missed having a man in the house, that security. I was really angry at my dad for being gone.”

Some of that anger surfaced as rebellion.

“For about a year, when I was a freshman in high school, I turned my back on God,” Mancy says. “I stopped going to church. I partied. I drank. I did drugs. But the whole time I did those things, I felt guilty. But my mom kept praying for me, and finally I decided to take a 180-degree turn, leaving those things behind. I still struggle with various things, but that was a real turning point.”

She turned to a more productive way of wrestling with her pain—writing poetry. One result was “After the Rain,” a song on the album that includes this verse:

After the rain
After the pain and all the sorrow
When today turns to tomorrow
The sun will shine, the sun will shine
After the rain

The rain finally ended for Mancy when “I began to see how God had pulled me through, when I saw how God works for the good of those who love him, even in hard times.”

But there was one more difficult step Mancy had to take, and she realized it when her dad moved back into town three years after the divorce.

“I realized I had to forgive him,” she says. “Holding a grudge against someone doesn’t get you anywhere. And besides, how can I not forgive other people when God has forgiven me for all the things I’ve done?

“So I forgave my dad. And our relationship has been much better since then.”

Sometimes the pain of life brings something good. Like poetry. And music.

“With my album,” says Mancy, “I just want people to see me, a girl before God. I want people to see that God will meet us when we’re on the mountaintop and when we’re in the valley. He wants to meet us in all of our emotions.”

Leave a Reply

