The Biblical Cure For Depression

Posted: August 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

Depression

We can get very depressed when we can’t be where we want to be, doing what we want to do. However, on this earth people and problems will always be primary causes of depression.

The Biblical Cure for Depression

There are three steps we must take to dispel depression.

1. Admit you are depressed.
The author writes: Psalm 42:6a my soul is cast down within me. The first step in getting rid of depression is to under­ stand this principle: “The beginning of healing is revealing your feeling.”

The root cause of depression is self-pity. In Psalms 42 and 43 the author uses the first-person pronouns me, and my more than 50 times. When we get depressed, we are usually thinking only of ourselves. This is because depression is often caused by being selfish and thinking too much about ourselves and our problems. However, what does Philippians 2:4 tell us?

Philippians 2:4
4 Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others.

This means we should quit concentrating on our own problems and get involved in helping others. Often I have been depressed as I went to make a hospital visit. However, I came away with my depression dispelled because I realized many people have much more serious problems than I. Remember the old saying: “I cried because I had no shoes until I met a man who had no feet.”

First, admit you are depressed, then . . .

2. Ask God to help.
When depressed, we need more than a pep talk or a message about depression. We often need supernatural help, and it’s readily available. Listen to the wonderful promise found in Psalm 86:7?

Psalm 86:7
7 In the day of my trouble I will call upon thee: for thou wilt answer me.

When asking God for help, it is important to remember what God has done in the past. The psalmist writes: Psalm 42:6a 0 my God, my soul is cast down within me: therefore will I remember thee .. .. It is always helpful to look back and remember what God has done because that puts power into our prayers. There is a great poem that says: “Yesterday God helped me; to­ day He’ll do the same. How long will this continue? FOREVER, praise His name!”

This brings us to the third step in curing depression . .

3. Praise God in advance.
Three times the author writes: (42:5b, 42:11b, and 43:8b) hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him. This means we should stop focusing on ourselves and our problems and start focusing on God. When we focus on God, we will experience what fantastic promise in Isaiah 26:3?

Isaiah 26:3
3 Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.

The Hebrew word translated peace refers to tranquility in the midst of life’s problems. When you praise God, you focus on God and thereby find a peace that dispels depression. The cure for depression is: Admit you are depressed, Ask God to help, and praise God in Advance.

Leave a Reply

