Is it because He is “nosey”?

Posted: September 11, 2015 in Uncategorized

Nosey

Is it because He is “nosey”?

Psalm 139

1 O Lord, thou hast searched me, and known me.

2 Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.
3 Thou compassest my path and my lying down,
and art acquainted with all my ways.
4 For there is not a word in my tongue,
but, lo, O Lord, thou knowest it altogether.
5 Thou hast beset me behind and before,
and laid thine hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high, I cannot attain unto it

God knows all about us (139:1-6).

God knows everything about you and me. In theological lingo, this means God is omniscient, or all-knowing. David begins: (139:1) 0 LORD, thou hast searched me, and known me.
The Hebrew word translated searched (!;IAQAR, huh-car) means to examine intimately. God knows everything about you and me including my past, present, and future. He is intimately acquainted with every detail of our lives. Listen to how Hebrews 4:13b reminds us of this fact?
Hebrews 4:13
13 Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do.

(Psalm 139:2a&3)
God knows …. my downsitting and mine uprising, as well as my path and my lying down. He is acquainted with all my ways.

God knows everything about us. He knows when we sit and watch TV or read. God knows about all our ways, or habits, and what’s going on in our lives. Listen to what else God knows, according to Psalm 139:2b?

Psalm 139:2b
2 Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.

Few things reveal the omniscience of God like the fact He knows what I’m thinking before there is a word in my tongue and knows it altogether (139:4). God knows everything we think and say, even before we think it. Before we can speak a word, God is thoroughly familiar with what we are going to say. This is why every day we need to pray the prayer in Psalm 19:14a?

Psalms 19:14
14 Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.

David writes: (139:5) Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. This means God knows everything we need. In Hebrew the word translated beset (SUR, sue-er) means to cramp or confine. In other words, God keeps His guiding, restraining hand on us. This is an answer to the prayer  found in Psalm 139:24b?

Psalms 139:24
24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

David puts it another way in His most famous psalm: (23:3b) God leads me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. As David thinks about our all-knowing God and how He leads us, he writes: (139:6) Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it . Why does God know all about us? Is it because He is “nosey”? No!

The reason God knows all about us is found in Jeremiah 31:3b. What is it?

Jeremiah 31:3
The Lord hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.

God loves us more than we can ever imagine. That’s why He knows everything about us.

Leave a Reply

